National Honor Society Has Come to Memphis School of Excellence-Cordova

On February 17, only two years after the opening of the campus, Memphis School of Excellence-Cordova started a chapter of the National Honor Society.  The first class of inductees were comprised of eleven tenth graders. NHS focuses on the pillars of service, leadership, scholarship, and character. In joining, students pledge to focus on these four pillars during the remainder of their high school career and beyond.

The students were inducted during a meaningful ceremony which was followed by a celebratory dinner. During the ceremony, Dr. Vernell Bennett-Fairs, President of LeMoyne-Owen College, spoke with students about the need to focus on their academics, their place in social media, and their vision for the road ahead for each of them. She reminded them about the role of social media in their lives as they move toward their dreams. Dr. Bennett-Fairs also encouraged the students to not take a wrong turn or make an unnecessary stop along their road to success because they are students who have the vision and tools to be successful. The evening ended with a dinner honoring the eleven students and their families.

2023 Induction Class                                              NHS Advisory Committee

Brendan C.                                                                                                             Whit W. Grace – Chapter Adviser

Alejandro H.                                                                                                            Leatryce-Stanley

Tierra N.                                                                                                                   Alex Christy

Anthony P.                                                                                                               Samantha Dallas

Dontrel P.                                                                                                                 Ravian Glasper

Daelyn R.                                                                                                                Kayla Reiss

Kosay S.                                                                                                                 Jamie Williams

Xavier S.                                                                                                                 Altug Gencturk-Principal

Charles W.

Josephene W.

Jonathan V.